



MISIÓN PERMANENTE DEL ECUADOR ANTE LAS NACIONES UNIDAS NUEVA YORK

30 November 2020

Excellencies,

I am pleased to announce the results of the secret ballot held at the plenary meeting of the thirteenth session of the Conference of States Parties to the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, held on 30 November 2020 in the morning, to elect 9 members of the Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities to replace those members whose terms expire on 31 December 2020.

Having obtained the largest number of votes and the required two thirds majority of the States Parties present and voting, Mr. Robert George MARTIN (New Zealand), Ms. Odelia FITOUSSI (Israel), Ms. Soumia AMRANI (Morocco), Ms. Rosa Idalia ALDANA SALGUERO (Guatemala), and Ms. Vivian FERNÁNDEZ DE TORRIJO (Panamá) have been elected as members of the Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities. The detailed results are attached as **Annex A**.

I congratulate Mr. Robert George MARTIN (New Zealand), Ms. Odelia FITOUSSI (Israel), Ms. Soumia AMRANI (Morocco), Ms. Rosa Idalia ALDANA SALGUERO (Guatemala), and Ms. Vivian FERNÁNDEZ DE TORRIJO (Panamá) on their election as members of the Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities.

There still remain four seats to be filled from among the candidates. In accordance with the rule 19 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference of States Parties to the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, the thirtieth session of the Conference of States Parties will hold the second meeting, this afternoon at 4.00pm, in the General Assembly Hall, to conduct the first restricted ballot. Further information is enclosed in **Annex B**.

I thank the tellers and the staff members of the United Nations Secretariat for their assistance in the first round of the election held this morning.

Please accept, Excellencies, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Cristian Espinosa

Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Ecuador to the United Nations, President of the 13th session of the Conference the of States Parties to the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities





MISIÓN PERMANENTE DEL ECUADOR ANTE LAS NACIONES UNIDAS NUEVA YORK

Annex A

TELLER REPORT

30 November 2020

Thirtieth session of the Conference of States Parties to the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities

Election of nine members of the Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities

Results of election (first round)

Number of ballots cast	181
Number of invalid ballots	0
Number of valid ballots	181
Abstentions	0
Number of representatives present and voting	181
Required majority [Absolute majority of those present and voting]	91

Number of votes obtained

Name of Candidate	Nominated by	Votes received:
Mr. Robert George MARTIN	New Zealand	121
Ms. Odelia FITOUSSI	Israel	109
Ms. Soumia AMRANI	Morocco	103
Ms. Rosa Idalia ALDANA SALGUERO	Guatemala	100
Ms. Vivian FERNÁNDEZ DE TORRIJO	Panamá	94
Ms. Gerel DONDOVDORJ	Mongolia	85
Mr. Samuel KABUE	Kenya	78
Ms. Saowalak THONGKUAY	Thailand	76
Mr. Ahmad ALSAIF	Saudi Arabia	72
Mr. Floyd MORRIS	Jamaica	71
Mr. Magino CORPORÁN LORENZO	Dominican Republic	70
Mr. Yahya AL-FARSI	Oman	66
Mr. Yatma FALL	Senegal	65-





MISIÓN PERMANENTE DEL ECUADOR ANTE LAS NACIONES UNIDAS

Signatures:

NUEVA YORK	112710	
Ms. Claire Lucille AZZOPARDI LANE	Malta	62
Ms. Maria Cristina KRONFLE GÓMEZ	Ecuador	55
Mr. Imed Eddine CHAKER	Tunisia	50
Mr. Jurij TOPLAK	Slovenia	41
Ms. Sif HOLST	Denmark	37
Mr. Moumouni DIARRA	Mali	36
Mr. Tambo Demba CAMARA	Mauritania	35
Ms. Ivanka JOVANOVIC	Serbia	35
Ms. Eufémia Maria Guila Amela AMELA	Mozambique	32
Ms. Lyazzat KALTAYEVA	Kazakhstan	31
M. Joseph NDAYISENGA	Burundi	24
Ms. Benafsha YAQOOBI	Islamic Republic of Afghanistan	19
Ms. Katarzyna ROSZEWSKA	Poland	14
Ms. Yuliia SACHUCK	Ukraine	12

Dinushi Sonali Rupathunga
Hettiwelige Caryn Wong Viktoria Sass
(Sri Lanka) (Singapore) (Hungary)

Joao Carlos Falzeta Zanini Carol Staunton Vivian G. Lombeh (Brazil) (Ireland) (Liberia)





MISIÓN PERMANENTE DEL ECUADOR ANTE LAS NACIONES UNIDAS NUEVA YORK

Annex B

Information on the conduct of the election of nine members of the Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities

(First restricted ballot)

Vacant seat

1. There remains four seats to be filled from among the candidates.

Candidates

2. In accordance with Rule 19 of the Rules of Procedure for the Conferences of States Parties to the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD/CSP/2008/3), the second round of balloting shall be restricted to the candidates, Ms. Gerel DONDOVDORJ (Mongolia), Mr. Samuel KABUE (Kenya), Ms. Saowalak THONGKUAY (Thailand), Mr. Ahmad ALSAIF (Saudi Arabia), Mr. Floyd MORRIS (Jamaica), Mr. Magino CORPORÁN LORENZO (Dominican Republic), Mr. Yahya AL-FARSI (Oman), and Mr. Yatma FALL (Senegal) who obtained the largest number of votes in the previous ballot and the number of candidates shall be limited to not more than twice the places remaining to be filled, with the provision that, after the third inconclusive ballot, votes may be cast for any eligible nominee.

Required majority

3. The candidates who obtain the largest number of votes and a two-thirds majority of the States Parties present and voting shall be declared elected, provided that such majority includes a majority of the States Parties.

Conduct of the election

- 4. The thirteenth session of the Conference of States Parities will hold a second meeting today, Monday, 30 November 2020, from 4.00 p.m., in the General Assembly Hall, to conduct the first restricted ballot. Delegates are requested to arrive at the General Assembly Hall in accordance with this timetable, starting at 3 p.m.
- 5. Other relevant information regarding the conduct of the election, including the casting of ballots and results, is set out in the information note entitled "Logistical and procedural aspects for the in-person meeting of the 13th session of the Conference of States Parties to the CRPD and elections of nine members of the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities", appended as "Annex B" to the Letter of President dated 5 November 2020 from the President of the thirtieth session of the Conference of States Parties to the CRPD, available at the website http://bit.ly/un-cosp13.

Registration

6. In order to minimize exposure and risks related to the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic, participation in the second round of election should be restricted to delegates that have participated in the first round of election or have otherwise registered their name through the online registration form.